How Much Religious Music is Too Much? Wausau School District Knows

ImageThe Wausau School District choral group has decided to disband at this time and the Elementary School has postponed their annual Christmas concert due to constraints placed by the WSD to limit “religious music” performed during the Christmas season, deemed by some as a “religious cleansing.”  Music educators in the WSD were issued three ultimatums by the WSD:

1.  Perform 5 secular songs for each religious song.

2.  Hold a concert without no holiday music.

3.  Postpone any concerts until after December.

Read more HERE.

WFA president Julaine Appling stated, “These situations typically happen because school officials don’t know what is illegal regarding religious expression in the public school and get scared by threats.  Nothing prevents Wausau schools, or any other schools, from presenting sacred Christmas music at a concert.  One sacred Christmas song to five secular songs is hardly balanced.  Concerned citizens need to call their school board members right now and let them know their thoughts on this.”

CONTACT INFORMATION FOR WAUSAU PUBLIC SCHOOLS:

Superintendent Kathleen Williams: kwilliams@wausauschools.org

Phone: 715-355-8899 OR 715-261-0050

BOARD OF EDUCATION 2012-2013
Please use the following email address to send correspondence to all members of the Board of Education
toboard@wausauschools.org
Michelle Schaefer, President (4-27-2015) 
5006 Blazing Star Street
Wausau, WI 54401

mschaefer@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-355-8899
Lance Trollop, Vice President (4-28-2014)
11427 Stettin Drive
Wausau, WI 54401
Bremer & Trollop Law Offices, S.C.
ltrollop@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-848-0706

Bus. 715-849-3200
Robb A. Shepherd, Treasurer (4-28-2014)
3406 Swallow Lane
Wausau, WI 54401
Shepherd & Schaller Sporting Goods Inc.
rshepherd@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-845-7969
Bus. 715-845-5432
Fax   715-845-2345
Yvonne Henning, Clerk (4-28-2014)
905 E. Tulip Lane
Wausau, WI 54401
yhenning@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-359-4065

Patrick McKee (4-27-2015)

405 Rimrock Road
Wausau, WI 54401
UMR
pmckee@wausauschools.org 

Res. 715-849-2003
Bus. 715-841-7009 
 
Theresa R. Miles (4-25-2016)
7101 Sunrise Court
Wausau, WI 54401
tmiles@wausauschools.org

Res. 715-241-9304

Jane A. Rusch (4-25-2016)
4522 Forest Valley Road
Wausau, WI 54403

jrusch@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-675-9409 
Kathi Whalen Geiger (4-27-2015)
602 Oriole Lane
Wausau, WI 54401
kwhalen@wausauschools.org 

Res. 715-218-3288


Matthew Young
 (4-25-2016)
3106 Partridge Ave
Wausau, WI 54401
UMR
myoung@wausauschools.org
Res. 715-298-1520
Fax  715-841-7276
  
About these ads

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s